Multan Sultans win PSL 7th Match against Islamabad United by 52 runs

In a thrilling encounter at the National Stadium in Karachi, Multan Sultans claimed a convincing 52-run victory against Islamabad United in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2023.

After winning the toss, Multan Sultans elected to bat first but Masood out at score 3 score. Multan Sultan should tanks to Rizwan to the brilliant partnership between Rossouw and Rizwan. The duo smashed the Islamabad United bowlers all around the park and scored 89 runs in just 10 overs.

Rizwan was the aggressor as he scored a blistering 50 off just 38 balls, including five fours and one sixes. Rossouw, on the other hand, played the anchor role and scored a steady 36 off 30 balls.

Despite the early wicket Masood, Multan Sultans kept the momentum going, thanks to the explosive batting of Rilee Rossouw, Rizwan and Miller. Miller scored a quickfire 52 off 25 balls, while Pollard remained unbeaten on 32 off just 21 balls.

Multan Sultans finished their innings at 190-4, setting a challenging target for Islamabad United.

In response, Islamabad United got off not a decent start with the opening pair of Paul Stirling and Hassan Nawaz adding few runs in the first overs. In the end, Islamabad United was bowled out for just 138 in 17.5 overs, handing Multan Sultans a comprehensive 52-run victory.

With this win, Multan Sultans moved to the top of the PSL 2023 points table, while Islamabad United slipped to third. Multan Sultans will be hoping to carry their winning momentum forward as they face Karachi Kings in their next match, while Islamabad United will be looking to bounce back against Peshawar Zalmi.


Multan Sultans: Shan Masood, Mohammad Rizwan (wk/c), Rilee Rossouw, David Miller, Kieron Pollard, Khushdil Shah, Carlos Brathwaite, Usama Mir, Abbas Afridi, Ihsanullah and Mohammad Ilyas.

Islamabad United: Paul Stirling, Hassan Nawaz, Colin Munro, Rassie van der Dussen, Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan (wk), Shadab Khan (c), Tom Curran, Faheem Ashraf, Rumman Raees and Mohammad Wasim Jr