PSL 8: Karachi Kings defeat Lahore by 67 runs & secure maiden win

Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 8, Karachi Kings defeated Lahore Qalandars by 67 runs and register their first victory in the event. After winning the toss, Lahore Qalandars’ captain Shaheen Shah Afridi invited Karachi Kings to bat in the cricket arena of Karachi’s National Stadium.

Karachi Kings’ openers, James Vince and Matthew Wade, provided a fantastic start to the team. A 70-run partnership between the two was established, where Wade scored 36 runs before being run out. Haider Ali came to support Vince, and both completed the century of the team together. On a total of 102, Liam Dawson ended Haider’s innings of 18 runs.

After scoring only 10 runs, Shoaib Malik became the prey of Haris Rauf.

England’s James Vince scored 46 runs before being bowled by Zaman Khan. Imad Wasim came to support Babar, and both players put up an excellent display of batting, with a partnership of 52 runs. On the first ball of the last over, Shaheen dismissed Cutting by bowling him out. However, Imad Wasim led his team to a reasonable total.

Karachi Kings scored 185 runs for the loss of five wickets in the allotted overs, with Cutting scoring 20 runs and Imad Wasim scoring 35 runs. From Lahore Qalandars’ side, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Zaman Khan, Haris Rauf, and Liam Dawson each took one wicket. In pursuit of the target, Lahore Qalandars were only able to score 118 runs for the loss of nine wickets.

Karachi Kings (Playing XI): James Vince, Haider Ali, Shoaib Malik, Irfan Khan, Matthew Wade(w), Imad Wasim(c), Ben Cutting, Akif Javed, Mohammad Amir, Imran Tahir, Aamer Yamin

Lahore Qalandars (Playing XI): Fakhar Zaman, Mirza Tahir Baig, Shai Hope(w), Kamran Ghulam, Sikandar Raza, Hussain Talat, David Wiese, Liam Dawson, Haris Rauf, Shaheen Afridi(c), Zaman Khan